Dem Rep. of Congo 
 Main prefix
 Callsigns series
 Time in capital city
 +1 h 
 Time zone
 +1 h, +2 h 
 ITU zone
 CQ zone
          Demokratyczna Republika Konga          
 Dem Rep. of Congo 
          Demokratyczna Republika Konga          
 Coat of arms 
 Satellite image 
          Demokratyczna Republika Konga          
 Flag description 
The sky blue flag, adorned with a yellow star in the upper left corner and cut diagonally by a red stripe with a thin yellow frame.
          Demokratyczna Republika Konga          
 Congo, Democratic Republic of the 
25 provinces (provinces, singular - province) and one neutral city* (ville neutre): Bas-Uélé, Équateur, Haut-Katanga, Haut-Lomami, Haut-Uélé, Ituri, Kasaï, Kasaï-Central, Kasaï Oriental, Kinshasa*, Kongo Central, Kwango, Kwilu, Lomami, Lualaba, Mai-Ndombe, Maniema, Mongala, Nord-Kivu, Nord-Ubangi, Sankuru, Sud-Kivu, Sud-Ubangi, Tanganyika, Tshopo, and Tshuapa.
65,751,512 (July 2007 est.)
Estimates for this country explicitly take into account the effects of excess mortality due to AIDS, this can result in lower life expectancy, higher infant mortality and death rates, lower population and growth rates, and changes in the distribution of population by age and sex than would otherwise be expected.
French (official), Lingala (a lingua franca trade language), Kingwana (a dialect of Kiswahili or Swahili), Kikongo, Tshiluba
0° 00' N, 25° 00' E
 Area total: 
2,345,410 sq. km
 Land area: 
2,267,600 sq. km
 Water area: 
77,810 sq. km
 Total land
10,730 km
 with neighbor
Angola 2,511 km (of which 225 km is the boundary of Angola's discontiguous Cabinda Province), Burundi 233 km, Central African Republic 1,577 km, Republic of the Congo 2,410 km, Rwanda 217 km, Sudan 628 km, Tanzania 459 km, Uganda 765 km, Zambia 1,930 km
37 km
Atlantic Ocean 0 m - Pic Marguerite on Mont Ngaliema (Mount Stanley) 5,110 m
 country code: 
Congolese franc (CDF)
 Name -
 Name -
 long form: 
Democratic Republic of the Congo
 Name -
 short form: 
 Name - local
 long form: 
Republique Democratique du Congo
 Name - local
 short form: 
 Former name: 
Congo Free State, Belgian Congo, Congo/Leopoldvill
30 June 1960 (from Belgium)
February 18, 2006, the Democratic Republic of Congo adopted a new constitution. 24 June 1967, amended August 1974, revised 15 February 1978, amended April 1990, transitional constitution promulgated in April 1994, in November 1998, a draft constitution was approved by former President Laurent KABILA but it was not ratified by a national referendum, one outcome of the ongoing inter-Congolese dialogue is to be a new constitution
dictatorship, presumably undergoing a transition to representative government
Independence Day, 30 June (1960)
          Demokratyczna Republika Konga          

 Wszelkie prawa zastrze¿one. (C) SP6NVK 2002-2012