Main prefix
 Callsigns series
 5RA-5SZ, 6XA-6XZ 
 Time zone
 +3 h 
 ITU zone
 CQ zone
 Coat of arms 
 Satellite image 
Photo gallery
Go to image:
Images starting from 1 to 20 out of 26 images.    .: NEXT :. 
                            .: NEXT :. 
 Flag description 
Two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a vertical white band of the same width on hoist side.
6 provinces (faritany): Antananarivo, Antsiranana, Fianarantsoa, Mahajanga, Toamasina, and Toliara.
16,473,477 (July 2002 est.)
French (official), Malagasy (official)
20° 00' S, 47° 00' E
 Area total: 
587,040 sq. km
 Land area: 
581,540 sq. km
 Water area: 
5,500 sq. km
 Total land
0 km
4,828 km
Indian Ocean 0 m - Maromokotro 2,876 m
 country code: 
Malagasy franc (MGF)
 Name -
 long form: 
Republic of Madagascar
 Name -
 short form: 
 Name - local
 long form: 
Republique de Madagascar
 Name - local
 short form: 
 Former name: 
Malagasy Republic
26 June 1960 (from France)
19 August 1992 by national referendum
Independence Day, 26 June (1960)

 Wszelkie prawa zastrze¿one. (C) SP6NVK 2002-2012