Main prefix
 Callsigns series
 Time zone
 +1 h 
 ITU zone
 CQ zone
 Coat of arms 
 Satellite image 
Photo gallery
 Flag description 
Three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), white, and green.
on 12 December 1991 the capital was officially transferred from Lagos to Abuja, most federal government offices have now made the move to Abuja
36 states and 1 territory*: Abia, Abuja Federal Capital Territory*, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nassarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, and Zamfara.
129,934,911 (July 2002 est.)
estimates for this country explicitly take into account the effects of excess mortality due to AIDS, this can result in lower life expectancy, higher infant mortality and death rates, lower population and growth rates, and changes in the distribution of population by age and sex than would otherwise be expected
English (official), Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), Fulani
10° 00' N, 8° 00' E
 Area total: 
923,768 sq. km
 Land area: 
910,768 sq. km
 Water area: 
13,000 sq. km
 Total land
4,047 km
 with neighbor
Benin 773 km, Cameroon 1,690 km, Chad 87 km, Niger 1,497 km
853 km
Atlantic Ocean 0 m - Chappal Waddi 2,419 m
 country code: 
naira (NGN)
 Name -
 long form: 
Federal Republic of Nigeria
 Name -
 short form: 
1 October 1960 (from UK)
new constitution adopted May 1999
republic transitioning from military to civilian rule
Independence Day (National Day), 1 October (1960)

 Wszelkie prawa zastrze¿one. (C) SP6NVK 2002-2012