Main prefix
 Callsigns series
 Time in capital city
 +10 h 
 Time zones
 +10 h, +8 h, +8 h 45 min. (Unofficial - in area small towns Border Village, Eucla, Madura, and Mundrabilla.), +9 h 30 min. 
 Australia and Oceania 
 ITU zone
 55, 58, 59 
 CQ zone
 29, 30 
 Coat of arms 
 Satellite image 
Photo gallery
Go to image:
Images starting from 1 to 20 out of 56 images.    .: NEXT :. 
                            .: NEXT :. 
 Flag description 
Blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and a large seven-pointed star in the lower hoist-side quadrant; the remaining half is a representation of the Southern Cross constellation in white with one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars.
6 states and 5 territories*: Ashmore and Cartier Islands*, Australian Capital Territory*, Coral Sea Islands Territory*, Jervis Bay Territory*, New South Wales, Northern Territory*, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia.
20,434,176 (July 2007 est.)
English, native languages
27° 00' S, 133° 00' E
 Area total: 
7,686,850 sq. km
includes Lord Howe Island and Macquarie Island
 Land area: 
7,617,930 sq. km
 Water area: 
68,920 sq. km
 Total land
0 km
25,760 km
Lake Eyre -15 m - Mount Kosciuszko 2,229 m
 country code: 
Australian dollar (AUD)
 Name -
 long form: 
Commonwealth of Australia
 Name -
 short form: 
1 January 1901 (federation of UK colonies)
9 July 1900, effective 1 January 1901
democratic, federal-state system recognizing the British monarch as sovereign
Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Coral Sea Islands, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Norfolk Island
Australia Day, 26 January (1788)

 Wszelkie prawa zastrze¿one. (C) SP6NVK 2002-2012