Main prefix
 Callsigns series
 Time zone
 0 h 
 ITU zone
 CQ zone
 Coat of arms 
 Satellite image 
Photo gallery
 Flag description 
The red cross of St George on a white field.
London (capital of UK)
Greater London was established in 1965 as an administrative unit covering the London metropolis. It was not defined as a county but had a two-tier structure, with the lower tier being the London boroughs. Following the abolition of the Greater London Council (GLC) in 1986 the boroughs became single-tier authorities, but Greater London was still widely recognized, especially for statistical and mapping purposes. In 2000 however a two-tier structure was re-established when the new Greater London Authority adopted responsibility for a range of citywide policy areas.

There are 32 actual boroughs, with a status similar to metropolitan districts, and also the City of London, which is a City Corporation and has a number of additional roles. Boroughs are subdivided into electoral wards.

City of London, Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Camden, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon; Hounslow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Sutton, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest, Wandsworth, and Westminster.

Greater London, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, South Yorkshire, Tyne and Wear, West Midlands, West Yorkshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, Cumbria, Derbyshire, Devon, Dorset, Durham, East Sussex, Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Northumberland, North Yorkshire, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Shropshire, Somerset, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Warwickshire, West Sussex, Wiltshire, and Worcestershire.

Unitary Authorities:
Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees, Darlington, Halton, Warrington, Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Kingston upon Hull, City of, East Riding of Yorkshire, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, York, Derby, Leicester, Rutland, Nottingham, Herefordshire, County of, Telford and Wrekin, Stoke-on-Trent, Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol, City of, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Plymouth, Torbay, Bournemouth, Poole, Swindon, Peterborough, Luton, Southend-on-Sea, Thurrock, Medway, Bracknell Forest, West Berkshire, Reading, Slough, Windsor and Maidenhead, Wokingham, Milton Keynes, Brighton and Hove, Portsmouth, Southampton, and Isle of Wight.
53° 00' N, 2° 00' W
 Area total: 
130,281 sq. km
 Total land
535 km
 with neighbor
Scotland 233 km, Wales 302 km
Internal boundaries
4,014 km
The Fens -4.6 m - Scafell Pike 978 m
 country code: 
British pound (GBP)
none (part of United Kingdom)
Kingdom of England - part of UK
St George's Day - April 23

 Wszelkie prawa zastrze¿one. (C) SP6NVK 2002-2012